What’s Up With Nelly!?

Yes, where has nelly been and what has she been up to?

My previous posts should tell you that Nelly is the name of my natural hair. 🙂 Yep, totally. With hair with a big attitude like mine, it’s hard NOT to give it a name.

I don’t think I’ve ever said that I have had my hair on a protective styling lockdown. Up until the end of August, and that is August 31 at 11:59:59, I will be keeping Nelly hidden away in a protective style. This month’s styling of choice is of course, my beloved yarn braids! I just love how they are a really good imitation of locs. I came absolutely CLOSE to letting my hair began the process of locking, but in a certain change of heart, I’ve decided to keep my afro hair loose. I’ve realized it’s not just the look of locs that really attracts me, it’s the low manipulation of it too. I mean, having hair of any kind can be as low manipulation as you want it to be however you wear it, but with me, I know it’s harder for me to maintain a ‘low maintenance’ regimen with my hair out and about than if I wore to keep a month-long protective style in it. So onto the yarn braids it is.

I’ve had them in since the middle of June and let me tell ya, with all this unpredictable rain and blinding HEAT I’m GLAD I opted to keep Nelly in protective styles throughout the summer. I mean lets just be real, I’ll be the first one frying like an egg with this massive bush on my head. And with all the humidity, my hair would have been all swelled up and uhh. I learned last summer, wearing my hair loose is a PAIN. I love having thick hair, but mixed with Florida heat uhh uhh, nope. I shall pass. And with that being said I’m still trying to grow it to greater lengths! lol

I find that I love wearing protective styles as much as I love wearing braidouts and twistouts and anything of the like. And summertime is when most people start getting their growth spurts (I’m speaking hair-terms okay). Lately, I’ve gotten 2 inches of growth in 2 months already! The average growth rate would be half an inch a month. I got half an inch in 2 weeks! Since those 2 weeks have passed, I’ve been FORCED to redo my edges. They were just getting remarkably rebellious and sassy. Though I’m partial to the “natural” look of frizzy edges, they were just taunting me and laughed at my efforts of tying them down with a silk scarf overnight. So with that, the punishment was for them to redone. lol But anyways, I’ve still been oiling my scalp daily and I’ve found that my two savior oils are avocado and castor oil! One is expensive, one is fairly cheap. Avocado oil is light and penetrating, castor oil is heavy, lays on thick but soaks right into my hair and I love it. These oils are incredible and one day I’ll do a post in depth about the benefits of these two oils. Maybe I’ll even learn something…maybe I’ll do that right now…

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t hold your breath.

 

 

Why?

 

Haven’t you caught on yet!?

This IS UNCOMMITTED COILS!

 

But here are some extra pics of what I’ve been doing to them…and that month of new growth in only two weeks!

My Lobster Braid. Saw it on youtube and decided to try it out.

 

New growth rolling in thick and QUICK. This was 2 weeks on Friday…

 

Have a beautiful (and hopefully breezy) Thursday evening! 😉

 

Toodles!!

2 thoughts on “What’s Up With Nelly!?

  1. I came across this blog by accident–gladly! I’ve been wearing yarn braids on and off for about five years now and I LOOOOVE them. I get so many compliments on my “dreads” and I’m always glad to clue my sistas in on what I thought was my own little secret! Ur so right about how fast our hair grows with yarn braids. I’m actually redoing my edges today! So happy to know I’m not the only one who uses the yarn braid protective style. Thanks for sharing!

    • Yarn braids are a lifesaver aren’t they?! I just learned of them a little less than a year ago and just love them. I use them every time I get an itching to loc my hair up and it’s nothing but a benefit. Thanks for reading and sharing such a nice comment!

So, what's on your mind? Now don't be shy!

