Practicin The Piano

The piano has always been one of my favorite instruments. I can play pretty well too…..well, at least with my right hand. My left hand is like jello-awkward when it comes to combining the tunes. I don’t read sheet music either. I was in a music class in elementary school, you know when you had all those mandatory electives, and even with the teacher constantly repeating over and over about the half note, full beat, tone deaf note, I still never got it. It took me a WHILE to figure out the name of that pretty cursive ‘S’ that began every melody….actually, I think I forgot it AGAIN. Is it called a treble? I think, isn’t it something with T?

I’ve always played by ear, so I don’t really understand the whole aspects of piano chords, guitar chords, how to strike a key, none of that. So I’ve just started watching youtube and figured out a way to play the keys without catching cramps in my fingers. He said that there are 7 letters in a key ranging from A to G. And they just repeat over and over again. I’ve been practicing remembering that all night, so of course I pulled out my handy dandy piano keyboard that we’ve had for YEARS and was surprised at how well I still remembered how to play…..well, with my right hand that is. One of the first songs I ever learned how to play all the way through was “The Entertainer”, now I’m learning how to play along with my left hand as well. Everyday, my left hand gets less and less awkward with the keyboard.

After I get better with the piano, I would like to learn how to play the guitar as well. And I dunno, maybe I’ll keep on. I’ve just always been intrigued by those fast pianists, and I always said “MAN I wish I could play like that”. And you know what that means! Practice, practice, PRACTICE! I’m always giddy playing the piano with both hands even if I screw up majorly on a certain part. lol It comes with the territory of success. One day, I will buy a piano for my home….a white one…..yeah.

Along with practicing the piano, I’ve also been trying to practice my drawings some more too. I just want to be great at atleast ONE of my skills. With doing hair, drawing, painting, writing, playing the piano, I know I can do all of that. But I’m not GREAT at any of them! So many others succeed me and although they inspire me, it gets me to thinking….what talent do I posess? What is unique about me? I guess that’s why my mind is always racing from one thing to the next. And never finishing up one idea. I have a hard to committing to finishing projects, at least the ones that I am less than 75% committed to. lol

 

I’m just curios, now that I have SUBSCRIBERS!!! Oh, you guys don’t know how seeing those little emails of “soandso just started following UncommittedCoils” I’m always like “YESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!” lol No really, I’m glad you all find at least ONE thing interesting about this blog. I guess I kinda got struck with a blank this past month as I haven’t been adding anything on here. You guys tell me what you find interesting about this blog and what I can do to improve it. And also, tell me what kind of talents you posess. Are you good at playing instruments or drawing or anything of the like? What inspires you? How’d you learn it? I’m really curious!

 

Toodles!!!

2 thoughts on “Practicin The Piano

  1. keep that left hand going. It’s must be quite the challenge (I’m a lefty) but at least the pretty tunes are in the right hand!!!

    My teacher once said to his class, “the average professional has practised for over 10,000 hours before they’re 21″……..I’m still work on it hehe.

    Play for the joy of it!

    • I’ve been practicing like crazy and just because I’m so tickled at how much better I sound. lol I love it so much sometimes I spend all day just trying to figure out notes on the keyboard and that alone keeps me practicing that for hours. I’m pretty sure I’m around 9,587 hours and I got one more year to go! lol Thank you for your comment and taking the time to read my blog!

So, what's on your mind? Now don't be shy!

